A female farmer is taking care of some goats, Kenya.
Photo: © FAO/Luis Tato

Large insurance pay-out for African farmers

African smallholder farmers are getting insurance pay-outs of USD 1.5 million from the R4 Rural Resilience Initiative after low rainfall.

Poor rainfall in parts of Africa has triggered the largest insurance pay-out to date for vulnerable farmers under an innovative climate risk management scheme known as the R4 Rural Resilience Initiative (R4), the United Nations World Food Programme (WFP) reported in May 2018. R4 was launched by WFP and Oxfam America in 2011.

Farmers participating in R4 will receive insurance payments totalling USD 1.5 million to compensate for weather-related crop losses in Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Senegal and Zambia.

Payments to nearly 30,000 households

The pay-out enables nearly 30,000 farming households to cover immediate needs, including the purchase of food and payment of children’s school fees. Many smallholders are also investing a portion of the pay-out in seeds or fertilisers, or in starting small-scale family businesses.

Insurance is a central component of R4, providing smallholders with protection against extreme weather shocks linked to climate change. Insurance payments are based on an index of rainfall, vegetation or yield estimates determining the extent of the loss incurred by participating farmers.

Compensation is paid if the index falls below a pre-determined threshold – in this most recent instance, it was because of drought during the growing seasons in the five countries.

Compensating weather-related losses

R4 combines four inter-linked elements: improved natural resource management (risk reduction), insurance (risk transfer), the promotion of investment including better access to micro-credit (prudent risk taking) and savings (risk reserves). The initiative reaches over 57,000 farmers in Africa who are vulnerable to climate risk.

Since 2011, a total of more than USD 2.4 million has been distributed in pay-outs to R4 participants in Ethiopia, Senegal, Kenya, Zambia and Malawi as compensation for weather-related losses. The programme is supported by the governments of the United States, Switzerland, Flanders (Belgium), the United Kingdom, France, the Republic of Korea, Canada and Sweden.


News Comments

Add a comment


Name is required!

Enter valid name

Valid email is required!

Enter valid email address

Comment is required!

Google Captcha Is Required!

You have reached the limit for comments!

* These fields are required.

Be the First to Comment